Why do emails archive instead of delete?

Go to Settings -> Mail, Contacts, Calendars and tap your Gmail account. Tap Account -> Advanced to bring up more options. Tap ‘Deleted Mailbox’ under the heading, Move discarded messages into; you’ll see that the default option is ‘Archive Mailbox’. Tap Account and then Done to confirm the changes.

Hereof, what is archive mailbox on iPhone?

With iOS, ‘Mail’ can archive Gmail messages on your iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch. Archiving messages allows you to store messages you’re done with but don’t want to delete. When you archive a Gmail message, it moves to the ‘All Mail’ folder. ‘Mail’ doesn’t delete the message from your Gmail account.

Where does Apple Mail archive go?

Yes, actually it does. With iOS, ‘Mail’ can archive Gmail messages on your iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch. Archiving messages allows you to store messages you’re done with but don’t want to delete. When you archive a Gmail message, it moves to the ‘All Mail’ folder.

How do I delete archived emails?

Go to Settings -> Mail, Contacts, Calendars and tap your Gmail account. Tap Account -> Advanced to bring up more options. Tap ‘Deleted Mailbox’ under the heading, Move discarded messages into; you’ll see that the default option is ‘Archive Mailbox’. Tap Account and then Done to confirm the changes.

Do archived emails take up space in Gmail?

Yes, messages that are archived count towards your storage quota. Even messages in the trash and spam are counted. The only difference is that messages in the spam and trash will probably be permanently deleted within 30 days, which automatically frees up space in your account.

What does archive do on Instagram?

The “Archive,” first spotted by TechCrunch, lets you keep a photo off of your feed and safely stored for your eyes only. The tool appears in the upper right-hand corner of your Instagram profile, and looks like a clock with a counterclockwise arrow circling it. Tapping that takes you to a page with your archived posts.

Where does my archived mail go?

With iOS, ‘Mail’ can archive Gmail messages on your iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch. Archiving messages allows you to store messages you’re done with but don’t want to delete. When you archive a Gmail message, it moves to the ‘All Mail’ folder. ‘Mail’ doesn’t delete the message from your Gmail account.

What does Archive mean on IG?

So Instagram is rolling out a new feature called “archive” that lets you hide any of your posts from everyone else, but keeps them safe for you to look at in private or restore to visibility. But deleting permanent Instagrams was always a one-way street.

What happens to archived emails in Gmail?

Archive or mute Gmail messages. If you want to clean up your inbox without deleting your emails, you can archive or mute them. Your emails are moved to a label called “All Mail.” When you archive a message: The message will come back to your inbox when someone replies to it.

How do you delete archived messages?

Click Messages -> Click the drop down menu between “new messages” and “Search Messages” and select archived messages-> Select a conversation-> Click the “Actions” drop down menu->Select “Delete messages”. That should do it. There are a few extra “no brainer” steps.

How do I delete all my emails at one time?

  • Go to your Inbox folder.
  • Tap on the “Edit”-Button on the top right.
  • Select the first email in your list.
  • Hold down the “Move” button.
  • While you are still holding the “Move”-Button, deselect the first E-Mail.
  • Put away all your fingers from the screen and wait a few seconds.
  • Now Mail asks you where to move ALL of your emails.
  • How do you access archived emails in Gmail?

    Click on All Mail on the left. When you see the message, open it, and choose the Move to Inbox option to “un-archive” it. Alternatively, you can use the search feature to locate the message (the search box should be towards the top of the Gmail page).

    Where do emails go when you swipe left?

    4 Answers

  • Go to Settings → Mail, Contacts, Calendars.
  • Select the Gmail account in question.
  • Select Account → Advanced.
  • In the second section called “Move Discarded messages into” change Archive Mailbox to Deleted Mailbox. The messages will then be deleted instead of archived.
  • What does it mean to archive an email in Gmail?

    Unlike Outlook, when you Archive a message in Gmail, the message is hidden from your Inbox view. So in effect, archiving lets you tidy up your inbox by moving messages from your inbox into your All Mail label, so you don’t have to delete anything.

    What does Archive mean in Google Photos?

    Google Photos has been gently nudging users to store and share more on its service lately. Archived photos will stay in your albums and search results, but won’t appear in your main Photos tab. It’s a handy way to keep your main stream clutter-free and hide extra shots that you don’t want to delete completely.

    What does it mean to archive an order on Amazon?

    Archiving orders doesn’t delete orders permanently. It removes them from your default order history view. Archived items will always show up when you search for them. You can also access archived orders by visiting Your Account and selecting View Archived Orders.

    How do I retrieve archived emails on my Iphone?

    Locating and Moving Archived Emails Back to the Inbox

  • Tap on “Mailboxes” and then tap on “All Mail”
  • Wait for all the messages to load, then locate and tap on the email you want to put back into the inbox.
  • With the email onscreen, tap the folder icon with an arrow pointing down.
  • How do I delete a lot of emails at once on my Iphone?

  • Go to your Inbox folder.
  • Tap on the “Edit”-Button on the top right.
  • Select the first email in your list.
  • Hold down the “Move” button.
  • While you are still holding the “Move”-Button, deselect the first E-Mail.
  • Put away all your fingers from the screen and wait a few seconds.
  • Now Mail asks you where to move ALL of your emails.
  • What does archive in Whatsapp mean?

    The Archive Chat feature allows you to hide a conversation from your Chats screen and access it later, if needed. You can archive groups or individual chats to better organize your conversations. Note: Using Archive Chat does not delete the chat or back it up to your SD card.

    How do I erase emails on IOS 10?

    How to “Delete All” Mail in iOS 10

  • Open the Mail app in iOS 10.
  • Go to the inbox or mailbox folder you want to delete all emails from.
  • Tap on the “Edit” button in the upper right corner.
  • Now manually tap on every single email you want to delete, as signified by having a blue check mark next to the email message.
  • How do I delete my emails on my Iphone 7?

    2 Answers

  • Go to your Sent folder.
  • Tap on the “Edit”-Button on the top right.
  • Select the first email in your list.
  • Hold down the “Move” button.
  • While you are still holding the “Move”-Button, deselect the first E-Mail.
  • Put away all your fingers from the screen and wait a few seconds.
  • What does it mean to archive a message on Facebook?

    Archiving a conversation hides it from your inbox until the next time you chat with that person. Deleting a conversation permanently removes the message history from your inbox. Open the conversation you want to archive. Click at the top right of the conversation.

    What is the difference between archiving and deleting in Gmail?

    What’s the difference between delete and archive? Whether you delete or archive an email message, it disappears from your inbox. A deleted message goes into the trash folder, whereas an archived message is defaulted to the Archive folder or “All Mail” on Gmail / Google Apps.

    Originally posted 2022-03-31 02:57:30.