What is the base of the skull called?

The 5 bones that make up the skull base are the ethmoid, sphenoid, occipital, paired frontal, and paired temporal bones. The skull base can be subdivided into 3 regions: the anterior, middle, and posterior cranial fossae. (See the image below.)

Likewise, what are the two bones in the back of your head?

The 7 cervical vertebrae form the bones of the neck that support the skull and organs of the head. The first cervical vertebra (atlas) supports and balances the head.

What are the holes in the skull called?

There is a large opening, called the foramen magnum, located in the back of the occipital bone. This is where the medulla ends and projects out of the skull. Smaller holes in the skull, called foramina, allow nerves and blood vessels to enter and leave the cranium.

What do you call the top of your head?

In bird anatomy, the crown is the top of the head, or more specifically the zone from the frons, or forehead, extending posteriorally to the occiput and laterally on both sides to the temples. The upper part of the head, including frons, crown and occiput, is sometimes called the pileum.

What is a skull base tumor?

It forms the floor, or base, of the skull. The spinal cord, multiple nerves and the major blood vessels of the brain, head and neck pass through openings in the skull base. The term “skull base tumor” refers to the tumor’s location. Even benign tumors can cause problems because they are growing in a confined space.

What is the name of the base of the skull?

The term “skull base” refers to the bottom of the skull, or the plate of bone upon which the brain sits. The skull base is an important area since it separates the brain from the remainder of the anatomic structures in the head, including the sinuses, eyes and ears.

What is located in the posterior cranial fossa?

The posterior cranial fossa is part of the cranial cavity, located between the foramen magnum and tentorium cerebelli. It contains the brainstem and cerebellum. It houses the cerebellum, medulla and pons.

What is a skull base surgeon?

Skull base surgery is a highly specialized, minimally invasive surgical technique for evaluating, diagnosing and treating benign or cancerous growths located on the underside of the brain, the base of the skull and the upper vertebrae of the spinal column.

What is the only movable bone of the skull?

The mandible, or jaw bone, is the only movable bone of the skull, forming the temporomandibular joint with the temporal bone. The lower teeth are rooted into the mandible while the upper teeth are rooted in the two maxillae.

What is the cranial fossa?

: any of the three large depressions in the posterior, middle, and anterior aspects of the floor of the cranial cavity: a : the posterior one that is the largest and deepest of the three and lodges the cerebellum, pons, and medulla oblongata — called also posterior cranial fossa, posterior fossa.

What is the vault of the skull?

The cranial vault is the space in the skull within the neurocranium, occupied by the brain. In humans, the size and shape of the brain, may be affected by the size of the vault as shown in craniometry, but studies relating it to intelligence have found no conclusive evidence.

What is in the middle cranial fossa?

The middle cranial fossa is a butterfly-shaped depression of the skull base, which is narrow in the middle and wider laterally. It houses the temporal lobes of the cerebrum.

Where is the base of the neck?

This is your neck, which contains seven vertebrae(C1–C7). The last, C7 is the bone that generally sticks out the most. You can easily feel it at the base of your neck, especially when you bend your head forward.

What is the occipital protuberance for?

Near the middle of the squamous part of occipital bone is the external occipital protuberance, the highest point of which is referred to as the inion. The inion is the most prominent projection of the protuberance which is located at the posterioinferior (lower rear) part of the human skull.

What is the bone located in the Anterosuperior of the skull?

(1 bone)Located on the Anterior, Superior portion of the skull, forms the forehead, some features are the Supraorbital foramina, Frontal sinus, & Coronal suture. (2 bones)Located on the Posterior, Superior portion of the skull on the left & right sides of the Sagittal suture.

Which bones articulate with the sphenoid?

Articulations. The sphenoid articulates with the frontal, parietal, ethmoid, temporal, zygomatic, palatine, vomer, and occipital bones and helps to connect the neurocranium to the facial skeleton.

What goes through the foramen Lacerum?

Furthermore, one of the terminal branches of the ascending pharyngeal artery (itself a branch of the external carotid artery) passes through the foramen lacerum. The ascending pharyngeal artery is one of three possible “meningeal branches” of this vessel. Some emissary veins pass through the foramen lacerum.

Which bone forms the cheek?

Side view of the teeth and jaws. (Zygomatic visible in center.) In the human skull, the zygomatic bone (cheekbone or malar bone) is a paired bone which articulates with the maxilla, the temporal bone, the sphenoid bone and the frontal bone.

What is a fossa in human anatomy?

In anatomy, a fossa (/ˈf?s?/; plural fossae (/ˈf?siː/ or /ˈf?sa?/); from the Latin “fossa”, ditch or trench) is a depression or hollow, usually in a bone, such as the hypophyseal fossa (the depression in the sphenoid bone). Some examples include: In the Skull: Cranial fossa. Anterior cranial fossa.

Where the mastoid process is located?

The mastoid process is located in the posterior portion of the temporal bone. It is one of the two projections situated behind the ear. The mastoid process provides an attachment for certain muscles of the neck.

Why is the maxilla considered the keystone of the face?

Explanation: It is the keystone because it anchors all facial bones except the mandible. It consists of two bones (maxillae) fused together at the midline.

What are the six primary sutures of the skull?


  • Coronal suture – unites the frontal bone with the parietal bones.
  • Sagittal suture – unites the 2 parietal bones in the midline.
  • Lambdoid suture – unites the parietal bones with the occipital bone.
  • Squamosal suture – unites the squamous portion of the temporal bone with the parietal bones.
  • Which bone is not a part of the orbit of the eye?

    The following bones take part in their formation: Superior margin: frontal bone and sphenoid. Inferior margin: maxillary bone, palatine and zygomatic. Medial margin: ethmoid, lacrimal bone, sphenoid (body of) and maxilla.

    What goes through the foramen?

    The human skull has numerous holes (foramina) through which cranial nerves, arteries, veins and other structures pass. These foramina vary in size and number with age. nerve of pterygoid canal through its anterior wall.