What are the countries that make up South America?

South America includes the following countries: Venezuela, Argentina, Uruguay, Bolivia, Suriname, Brazil, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Colombia, Guyana, and Ecuador. In addition, South America has two non-sovereign territories: French Guiana, a territory of France, and the Falkland Islands, a territory of the United Kingdom.

Considering this, how many countries are there in the South America?

South America is the fourth largest continent in the world and covers an area of 6.89 million square miles. The continent is made up of 12 sovereign countries: Colombia, Bolivia, Argentina, Chile, Peru, Uruguay, Brazil, Paraguay, Venezuela, Guyana, Suriname, and Ecuador.

What countries are in Central and South America?

Central America is bordered by Mexico to the north, Colombia to the southeast, the Caribbean Sea to the east, and the Pacific Ocean to the west. Central America consists of seven countries: Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama.

What countries are in South America map?

South American countries

  • Argentina.
  • Bolivia.
  • Brazil.
  • Chile.
  • Colombia.
  • Ecuador.
  • Suriname.
  • Paraguay.
  • What are the 12 countries in South America?

    It includes twelve sovereign states (Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela), a part of France (French Guiana), and a non-sovereign area (the Falkland Islands, a British Overseas Territory though this is disputed by Argentina).

    Is Mexico a part of South America?

    Alternatively, some geologists physiographically locate its southern limit at the Isthmus of Tehuantepec, Mexico, with Central America extending southeastward to South America from this point. The Caribbean islands, or West Indies, are considered part of North America. The continental coastline is long and irregular.

    What is the capital city of South America?

    South America Countries & CapitalsCountryCapital CityClick on the Link for Online City GuideArgentinaBuenos AiresTravel Guide to Buenos AiresBoliviaSucreTravel Guide to SucreBrazilBrasíliaTravel Guide to BrasíliaChileSantiagoTravel Guide to Santiago

    How many of the fifty states are in North America?

    It includes 49 of the 50 states (48 of which are located south of Canada and north of Mexico, known as the “lower 48 states”, the other being Alaska) and the District of Columbia, which contains the federal capital, Washington, D.C.

    Is South America a country or a continent?

    The continent of South America is divided up into 12 countries and 3 dependent territories. The continent is located mostly in the southern hemisphere and entirely in the western hemisphere. South America is also commonly referred to as Latin America and/or the Southern Cone.

    How many countries are there in South Asia?

    The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC), a contiguous block of countries, started in 1985 with seven countries – Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka – and added Afghanistan as an eighth member in 2007.

    What is the main language spoken in South America?

    Portuguese is the majority language of South America, by a small margin. Spanish, with slightly fewer speakers than Portuguese, is the second most spoken language on the continent. Other official and majority languages in specific countries are: Dutch in Suriname.

    Is Brazil the largest country in South America?

    Brazil is the largest country in South America and the fifth largest nation in the world. It forms an enormous triangle on the eastern side of the continent with a 4,500-mile (7,400-kilometer) coastline along the Atlantic Ocean. It has borders with every South American country except Chile and Ecuador.

    How many countries are there in the continent of Australia?

    Currently, there are 3 confirmed countries that divide the continent of Australia. It consists of the country of Australia by the same name, New Zealand, and Papua New Guinea.

    How many states are in North and South America?

    How Many Countries in North America? The North American Continent is made up of 23 different countries and 9 dependent territories. Of the 23 countries that divide up the continent, Canada, and the United States comprise nearly 80% of the total land area.

    Is Cuba considered a part of South America?

    The vast majority of the world’s islands are “assigned” to the continent to which they are closest. Accordingly, Cuba is considered to be part of North America, as it is closer to both the United States and Mexico than it is to Venezuela and Colombia.

    What part of America am I in?

    North America, the planet’s 3rd largest continent, includes (23) countries and dozens of possessions and territories. It contains all Caribbean and Central America countries, Bermuda, Canada, Mexico, the United States of America, as well as Greenland – the world’s largest island.

    Is Portugal part of South America?

    Although Brazil is the only Portuguese-speaking nation in South America, it has the largest population, area and economy on the continent. Thus, the South American trade bloc Mercosul uses Portuguese alongside Spanish as its working languages.

    How many countries are there in the Asia?

    Asia is subdivided into 48 countries, three of them (Russia, Kazakhstan and Turkey) having part of their land in Europe. Asia has extremely diverse climates and geographic features.

    What are the countries in South America that speak Spanish?

    -Spanish is the official language in 9/15 countries +territories in South America Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay, Peru, Bolivia, Ecuador, Venezuela, Chile, Colombia. In Peru and Bolivia, it is a co-official language.

    What is the smallest country in the South America?


    How many countries are in the Latin America?

    There are 33 countries in Latin America and the Caribbean today, according to the United Nations. The full list is shown in the table below, with current population and subregion (based on the United Nations official statistics).

    Is the French Guiana a country?

    Guiana (Guyane) was an overseas department of France and is now a French region (région), located at the central northern coast of South America, bordering the Atlantic Ocean in north. Countries with international borders to French Guiana are Brazil and Suriname.

    What are the countries in Australia?

    We sometimes talk about these countries together as “Australasia”, but it’s more of a geographical term than a political one:

  • Australia.
  • New Zealand.
  • (part of Indonesia)
  • East Timor.
  • Papua New Guinea.
  • Solomon Islands.
  • Fiji.
  • Tonga (maybe, that’s more Polynesia, really)
  • Who discovered the North America?

    Norse captain Leif Ericson is believed to have reached the Island of Newfoundland circa 1000 AD. They named their new discovery Vinland. The only Norse site yet discovered in North America is at L’Anse aux Meadows, Newfoundland and Labrador. The Norse colonies were later abandoned.