What are the 9 species of giraffes?

  • Masai giraffe – Giraffa tippelskirchi.
  • Reticulated giraffe – Giraffa reticulata.
  • Southern giraffe – Giraffa giraffa.
  • South African giraffe – G. g.
  • Northern giraffe – Giraffa camelopardalis.
  • Nubian giraffe – G. c. camelopardalis.
  • West African giraffe – G. c. peralta.
  • What are the three types of giraffes?

    Many people don’t realize that there are actually nine different subspecies of giraffe, three of which are found in Kenya: the reticulated giraffe (Giraffa camelopardalis reticulata; also known as the Somali giraffe), Rothschild’s giraffe (Giraffa camelopardalis rothschildi), and the Masai giraffe (Giraffa

    What kind of animal is a giraffe?

    The giraffe (Giraffa) is a genus of African even-toed ungulate mammals, the tallest living terrestrial animals and the largest ruminants. The genus currently consists of one species, Giraffa camelopardalis, the type species.

    What are the four different species of giraffe?

    The authors of this new study, published last week in Current Biology, suggest that giraffes should be divided into four distinct species: the southern giraffe (G. giraffa); the Masai giraffe (G. tippelskirchi); the reticulated giraffe (G. reticulata); and the northern giraffe (G. camelopardalis).

    What are the different types of giraffe?

    Giraffe genetic secret: Four species of tallest mammal identified

  • southern giraffe (Giraffa giraffa),
  • Masai giraffe (G. tippelskirchi),
  • reticulated giraffe (G. reticulata)
  • northern giraffe (G. camelopardalis), which includes the Nubian giraffe (G. c. camelopardalis) as a distinct but related subspecies.
  • What types of giraffes are endangered?

    IUCN Red List

  • Vulnerable: as a species – Giraffa camelopardalis.
  • Endangered: West African giraffe (G. c. peralta)
  • Endangered: Rothschild’s giraffe (G. c. rothschildi – now subsumed into Nubian giraffe G. c. camelopardalis)
  • Do giraffes spots get darker as they age?

    Aging Male Giraffes Go Black, Not Gray. When male giraffes reach about 9.4 years of age, their once light spots (see right) have darkened to coal-black (left), researchers have found. “In gorillas who turn silverback, and in men, the color gets lighter, not darker with age.”

    Are giraffe’s endangered?

    The International Union for the Conservation of Nature, the body that administers the world’s official endangered species list, announced yesterday that it was moving the giraffe from a species of Least Concern to Vulnerable status in its Red List of Threatened Species report.

    How do giraffes protect themselves in the wild?

    Adult giraffes’ size intimidates many potential predators, so younger giraffes are more vulnerable. The giraffe’s most powerful protective asset is a powerful kick it gives with its front feet, with a force strong enough to kill a lion. Nature gave the giraffe several nonviolent characteristics that help it survive.

    How many different types of lions are there in the world?

    There is actually only one species – the Panthera leo, however, there are several sub-species of lions which you may not know about. So when you head off on your African safari, read up about the various species and have a look at the photographs below to make sure you know which ones you will be seeing.

    What is related to a giraffe?

    A giraffe is an even-toed ungulate, which means it is related to hippos, moose, deer, sheep, camels, llamas, pigs, antelopes, and buffalo. Taxonomically speaking, giraffes are the closest relative to the okapi (Okapia johnstoni).

    What are giraffe spots for?

    A giraffe’s spots are much like human fingerprints. No two individual giraffes have exactly the same pattern. Both male and female giraffes have two distinct, hair-covered horns called ossicones. Male giraffes use their horns to sometimes fight with other males.

    Where can giraffes be found?


    How many different kinds of elephants are there in the world?

    Two distinct types of elephants were recognized, the African elephant (Loxodonta) and the Asian elephant (Elephas). In 1942, the African elephants were classified into 18 subspecies, but genetic studies later recognized only two subspecies, the savannah elephant (L. a. africana) and the forest elephant (L. a.

    How many giraffes are there in the wild?

    Fewer than 100,000 giraffes remain in the wild, down from an estimated 150,000 that roamed the savannas 30 years ago. And because the species don’t interbreed, population numbers for all African giraffes won’t accurately represent whether each group is doing well.

    How long is the neck of a giraffe?

    A giraffe’s 6-foot (1.8-meter) neck weighs about 600 pounds (272 kilograms). The legs of a giraffe are also 6 feet (1.8 meters) long. The back legs look shorter than the front legs, but they are about the same length.

    Why giraffes are so tall?

    Most people assume that giraffes’ long necks evolved to help them feed. If you have a long neck, runs the argument, you can eat leaves on tall trees that your rivals can’t reach. But there is another possibility. The prodigious necks may have little to do with food, and everything to do with sex.

    Why is the giraffe in danger?

    A giraffe is pictured in the wild on March 3, 2014. Giraffe numbers are dwindling across Africa because of poaching and habitat loss caused by human population growth, according to wildlife experts, and it’s happening largely unnoticed.

    Where do Masai giraffes come from?

    The Masai giraffe (Giraffa camelopardalis tippelskirchii), also spelled Maasai giraffe, also called Kilimanjaro giraffe, is the largest subspecies of giraffe. It is native to East Africa. The Masai giraffe can be found in central and southern Kenya and in Tanzania.

    Where does the giraffe live?

    Range. Giraffes can be found in central, eastern and southern Africa. Giraffes live in the savannas of Africa, where they roam freely among the tall trees, arid land, dense forests and open plains.

    Are horses and giraffes related?

    Horses are indeed closer to rhinos than to giraffes. Both horses and rhinos are odd-toed. You are right that the number of toes shouldn’t decide where an species falls in the mammal family tree, it should be actual relatedness which can better be determined by such things as the fossil record and DNA analysis.

    What is the name for a group of giraffe?

    E for Eagles – a group of eagles is called a convocation. F for Foxes – a group of foxes is called a charm. G for Giraffes – a group of giraffes is called a tower. H for Hedgehogs – a group of hedgehogs is called a prickle.

    Leave a Comment