What are the 8 states and territories of Australia?

States & Territories of Australia

  • Queensland.
  • New South Wales.
  • Australian Capital Territory.
  • Victoria.
  • South Australia.
  • Western Australia.
  • Tasmania.
  • Northern Territory.
  • Also question is, what are Australia’s states and territories?

    Government in the Commonwealth of Australia is exercised on three levels: federal, states and territories, and local government. There are six states: New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, Western Australia, South Australia and Tasmania. Historically, each is a successor to one of the previous Australian colonies.

    Beside above, what are the 10 territories in Australia?


  • Ashmore and Cartier Islands.
  • Christmas Island.
  • the Cocos (Keeling) Islands.
  • the Coral Sea Islands.
  • the Australian Antarctic Territory.
  • the Territory of the Heard and McDonald Islands.
  • Norfolk Island.
  • Is Australia bigger than USA?

    United States is about 1.3 times bigger than Australia. Australia is approximately 7,741,220 sq km, while United States is approximately 9,833,517 sq km, making United States 27% larger than Australia. Meanwhile, the population of Australia is ~23.2 million people (303.4 million more people live in United States).

    What is the smallest island in Australia?

    The smallest, which are only 2 square kilometres, are in the Ashmore and Cartier Islands Territory off Western Australia.