What are the 8 stages of development Erikson?

Erik Erikson’s Stages of Psychosocial Development

  • Stage One – Trust vs Mistrust.
  • Stage Two – Autonomy vs Shame and Doubt.
  • Stage Three – Initiative vs Guilt.
  • Stage Four – Industry vs Inferiority.
  • Stage Five – Identity vs Role Confusion.
  • Stage Six – Intimacy vs Isolation.
  • Stage Eight – Ego Integrity vs Despair.
  • What are the 5 stages of psychosexual development?

    Psychosexual Stages of Development

  • Oral Stage (0-1 year) In the first stage of personality development, the libido is centered in a baby’s mouth.
  • Anal Stage (1-3 years)
  • Phallic Stage (3 to 5 or 6 years)
  • Latency Stage (5 or 6 to puberty)
  • Genital Stage (puberty to adult)
  • What are the psychosexual stages of personality development?

    Freud’s structural model posits that personality consists of three interworking parts: the id, the ego, and the superego. The five stages of Freud’s psychosexual theory of development include the oral, anal, phallic, latency, and genital stages.

    When was Erikson’s theory developed?

    Erik Erikson first published his eight stage theory of human development in his 1950 book Childhood and Society.

    What is trust vs mistrust?

    The trust versus mistrust stage is the first stage of psychologist Erik Erikson’s theory of psychosocial development, which occurs between birth and approximately 18 months of age.

    What are the 8 stages of development?

    Psychosocial Stages Summary

  • Trust vs. Mistrust. This stage begins at birth and lasts through one year of age.
  • Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt.
  • Initiative vs. Guilt.
  • Industry vs. Inferiority.
  • Identity vs. Role Confusion.
  • Intimacy vs. Isolation.
  • Generativity vs. Stagnation.
  • Ego Integrity vs. Despair.
  • Who called the Stages of Development psychosexual stages?

    Psychosexual Stages. Freud (1905) proposed that psychological development in childhood takes place in a series of fixed psychosexual stages: oral, anal, phallic, latency, and genital.

    What is integrity vs despair?

    Late adulthood is the time of life after age 65. Psychologist Erik Erikson identified the critical conflict at this point in life as ‘Ego Integrity vs. Despair.’ This involves reflecting on one’s life and either moving into feeling satisfied and happy with one’s life or feeling a deep sense of regret.

    What are the 3 stages of development?

    This period is generally divided into three stages: the germinal stage, the embryonic stage, and the fetal stage. The two-week period after conception is called the germinal stage. Conception occurs when a sperm cell combines with an egg cell to form a zygote.

    What is autonomy versus shame and doubt?

    Autonomy versus shame and doubt is the second stage of Erik Erikson’s stages of psychosocial development. This stage occurs between the ages of 18 months to around age 2 or 3 years. According to Erikson, children at this stage are focused on developing a greater sense of self-control.

    What are the three stages of moral development?

    Lawrence Kohlberg expanded on the earlier work of cognitive theorist Jean Piaget to explain the moral development of children, which he believed follows a series of stages. Kohlberg defined three levels of moral development: preconventional, conventional, and postconventional. Each level has two distinct stages.

    What are the stages of psychosocial development?

    Erikson’s eight stages of psychosocial development include trust vs. mistrust, autonomy vs. shame/doubt, initiative vs. guilt, industry vs. inferiority, identity vs. role confusion, intimacy vs. isolation, generativity vs. stagnation, and integrity vs. despair.

    What are the stages of development?

    Piaget’s four stages of intellectual (or cognitive) development are:

  • Sensorimotor. Birth through ages 18-24 months.
  • Preoperational. Toddlerhood (18-24 months) through early childhood (age 7)
  • Concrete operational. Ages 7 to 12.
  • Formal operational. Adolescence through adulthood.
  • What are the psychological development?

    Psychological development, the development of human beings’ cognitive, emotional, intellectual, and social capabilities and functioning over the course of the life span, from infancy through old age. It is the subject matter of the discipline known as developmental psychology.

    What are Piaget’s four stages of cognitive development?

    Cognitive development is Jean Piaget’s theory. Through a series of stages, Piaget proposed four stages of cognitive development: the sensorimotor, preoperational, concrete operational and formal operational period.

    What is Erikson’s theory?

    Erikson’s stages of psychosocial development, as articulated by Erik Erikson, in collaboration with Joan Erikson, is a comprehensive psychoanalytic theory that identifies a series of eight stages, in which a healthy developing individual should pass through from infancy to late adulthood.

    What are the Erikson’s stages of development?

    These stages, however, can be resolved successfully at a later time.

  • Trust vs mistrust.
  • Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt.
  • Initiative vs. Guilt.
  • Industry (competence) vs. Inferiority.
  • Identity vs. Role Confusion.
  • Intimacy vs. Isolation.
  • Generativity vs. Stagnation.
  • Ego Integrity vs. Despair.
  • What is the cognitive development?

    Cognitive development is a field of study in neuroscience and psychology focusing on a child’s development in terms of information processing, conceptual resources, perceptual skill, language learning, and other aspects of the developed adult brain and cognitive psychology.

    What is the definition of ego integrity?

    Ego integrity was the term given by Erik Erikson to the last of his eight stages of psychosocial development, and used by him to represent ‘a post-narcissistic love of the human ego—as an experience which conveys some world order and spiritual sense, no matter how dearly paid for’.

    What is the definition of generativity?

    medical Definition of generativity. plural generativities. : a concern for people besides self and family that usually develops during middle age; especially : a need to nurture and guide younger people and contribute to the next generation —used in the psychology of Erik Erikson.

    What is the initiative vs guilt stage?

    This stage occurs during the preschool years, between the ages of 3 and 5. During the initiative versus guilt stage, children begin to assert their power and control over the world through directing play and other social interaction.