What are the 52 states of America in alphabetical order?

The 50 U.S. states, in alphabetical order, along with each state’s flag:

  • Alabama.
  • Alaska.
  • Arizona.
  • Arkansas.
  • California.
  • Colorado.
  • Connecticut.
  • Delaware.
  • Also, what US state has the longest formal name?

    The State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations (commonly known as Rhode Island) is the smallest state by land area in the United States, and the state with the longest official name.

    What is the only letter that does not appear in the name of a US state?

    But Q isn’t the only rare letter in our state names here in the U.S. The letter Z appears in the name of only state (Arizona) and X in just two (Texas and New Mexico). P is also fairly rare among the 50, as it appears in only three state names — Pennsylvania, Mississippi, and New Hampshire.

    What is the name of the 51st state?

    51st state refers to a place or territory that is not one of the 50 states of the United States, but people think about making it the 51st state. Places in the United States that are not states right now that might become the 51st state are Puerto Rico, Guam, the US Virgin Islands, or the Northern Marianas.

    What are the 52 states of the United States of America?

    The United States of America. The District of Columbia is a federal district, not a state. Many lists include DC and Puerto Rico, which makes for 52 “states and other jurisdictions”.

    What is the first state of the US?

    The State of Delaware. On December 7, 1787, Delaware, became the first state to ratify the United States Constitution. Before that, it was the only colony to be claimed by Sweden, Holland and England.

    What is all 50 states in alphabetical order?

    Please click on the state you are interested in to view that state’s information:

  • Alabama. Alaska. Arizona. Arkansas. California. Colorado. Connecticut.
  • Indiana. Iowa. Kansas. Kentucky. Louisiana. Maine.
  • Nebraska. Nevada. New Hampshire. New Jersey. New Mexico. New York.
  • Rhode Island. South Carolina. South Dakota. Tennessee. Texas. Utah.
  • What is the capital of the 50 states?

    U.S. State Capitals List

  • Alabama – Montgomery.
  • Alaska – Juneau.
  • Arizona – Phoenix.
  • Arkansas – Little Rock.
  • California – Sacramento.
  • Colorado – Denver.
  • Connecticut – Hartford.
  • Delaware – Dover.
  • Which state is New York?

    New York most commonly refers to: New York (state), a state in the Northeastern United States. New York City, the most populous city in the United States, located in the state of New York.

    Is Texas a state or a republic?

    It became its own country, called the Republic of Texas, from 1836 until it agreed to join the United States in 1845. Sixteen years later, it seceded along with 10 other states to form the Confederacy.

    Is the District of Columbia one of the 50 states?

    Washington DC is not one of the 50 states. But it’s an important part of the U.S. The District of Columbia is our nation’s capital. Congress established the federal district from land belonging to the states of Maryland and Virginia in 1790.

    Is Hawaii a state in the US?

    Hawaii Becomes our 50th State. Hawaii officially became the fiftieth state on August 21, 1959. It is one of the smallest states, and it is the only state made up entirely of islands. The islands are the tops of volcanoes, some of them still active.

    Is a Washington DC a state?

    Washington, D.C., formally the District of Columbia and commonly referred to as Washington or D.C., is the capital of the United States of America. The U.S. Constitution provided for a federal district under the exclusive jurisdiction of the Congress and the District is therefore not a part of any state.

    Which state is the White House in?

    Washington, D.C.

    What is the name of the Texas state song?

    The lyrics were written by Marsh and Gladys Yoakum Wright. Texas, Our Texas! all hail the mighty State! O Empire wide and glorious, you stand supremely blest.

    What is the official state song of New York?

    State songsStateState songComposer(s)New York”I Love New York”Steve KarmenNorth Carolina”The Old North State”North Dakota”North Dakota Hymn”Ohio”Beautiful Ohio”Mary Earl

    Is Puerto Rico part of the United States of America?

    Puerto Rico, an island in the Caribbean Sea, has been a territory of the United States since 1898, after the U.S. defeated Spain in the Spanish-American war. Puerto Ricans by birth have American citizenship and can move freely between the island and the U.S. mainland. But unlike Hawaii, Puerto Rico is not a state.

    Is Canada is a state?

    Canada is a federal parliamentary democracy and a constitutional monarchy, with Queen Elizabeth II being the head of state. The country is officially bilingual at the federal level. Canada’s long and complex relationship with the United States has had a significant impact on its economy and culture.

    How many states are there?

    50 states

    What are the 50 states in alphabetical order and capitals?

    50 states and capitals in alphabetical order

  • Alabama. Montgomery.
  • Alaska. Juneau.
  • Arizona. Phoenix.
  • Arkansas. Little Rock.
  • California. Sacramento.
  • Colorado. Denver.
  • Connecticut. Hartford.
  • Delaware. Dover.
  • Is Puerto Rico is a state?

    Puerto Ricans are by law citizens of the United States and may move freely between the island and the mainland. As it is not a state, Puerto Rico does not have a vote in the United States Congress, which governs the territory with full jurisdiction under the Puerto Rico Federal Relations Act of 1950.

    How many stars are there in the US flag?

    50 stars

    How many states do we have in Canada?

    The ones called state in many countries are called Province in Canada. We have ten provinces in Canada and they are: Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan.