What are the 4 types of dengue fever?

The Dengue Serotypes Dengue infections are caused by four closely related viruses named DEN-1, DEN-2, DEN-3, and DEN-4. These four viruses are called serotypes because each has different interactions with the antibodies in human blood serum.

Also to know is, which type of dengue is most dangerous?

Macrophage infection is central to the pathogenesis of dengue fever and origin of DHF/DSS. The infected macrophages release various cytokines leading to increased vascular permeability and shock. Dengue serotype 2 is apparently more dangerous as compared to others. *DHF Grade III and IV are also called as DSS.

Additionally, how many types of dengue fever are there?

There are four serotypes (DENV-1, -2, -3, and -4), and the virus is transmitted to humans through the bite of mosquitoes of the genus Aedes (5). DENV causes a wide spectrum of clinical manifestations, from DF to dengue hemorrhagic fever (DHF), which may progress to dengue shock syndrome (DSS) (20, 43).

Which organs are affected by dengue?

During its journey, the dengue virus infects more cells, including those in the lymph nodes and bone marrow, macrophages in both the spleen and liver, and monocytes in the blood.

Is Dengue fever is dangerous?

How serious is it? Half a million patients are hospitalized each year, but most people recover after two to seven days. Some develop dengue hemorrhagic fever after the initial fever declines — a more severe form of the illness that can cause organ damage, severe bleeding, dehydration and even death.

Leave a Comment