What are the 4 German cases?

The four German cases are nominative, accusative, dative, and genitive.

  • The nominative case is used for sentence subjects. The subject is the person or thing that does the action.
  • The accusative case is for direct objects.
  • The dative case is for indirect objects.
  • The genitive case is used to express possession.
  • Similarly, you may ask, why does German have cases?

    In German, many words change their form or add different endings according to their function in a sentence. For example, they change depending on whether the word is the subject or the object of the sentence. These changes and different endings are called ‘cases’.

    How many types of case are there?

    There are only three cases in modern English, they are subjective (he), objective (him) and possessive (his). They may seem more familiar in their old English form – nominative, accusative and genitive.

    What are the 3 genders in German?

    German has all three genders of late Proto-Indo-European—the masculine, the feminine, and the neuter. Most German nouns are of one of these genders. Nouns denoting a person, such as die Frau (“woman”) or der Mann (“man”), generally agree with the natural gender of what is described.

    What are the two main types of cases?


  • Civil cases. Civil cases can be brought before the district courts by individuals and companies to settle disputes between them and another party.
  • Criminal cases.
  • Enforcement cases.
  • Estate administration cases.
  • Property registration.
  • Notarial services.